COVID-19 Therapeutics Whirlwind webinar

Recordings of the COVID-19 Therapeutics Whirlwind webinar are available on the CRE REDUCE YouTube channel.

Thousands of clinical trials are currently underway to investigate treatments and preventative therapies for COVID-19. Worldwide researchers are working with unprecedented urgency to find novel therapies or repurpose existing drugs to fight the virus. This symposium will explore and explain the current evidence base for COVID therapies and describe principles and evidence for treatment.

In this webinar recording from 23 February 2021, chaired by Prof Jason Roberts, clinician-researchers present evidence from major international trials and give an exposé on treatment considerations for critically ill patients with COVID.

Learning objectives

  1. Understand the current evidence base for COVID-19 drug therapies
  2. Understand the principles of treatment and evidence for infants and children
  3. Understand the evidence from major international trials
  4. Understand treatment considerations for critically ill patients with COVID-19

     

Thank you to our sponsors

 

 

COVID-19 Therapeutics Whirlwind webinar

Tue 23 Feb 2021 6:00pm8:45pm

6.00 pm AEST Welcome and introduction
Professor Jason Roberts, The University of Queensland CRE REDUCE

6.05 pm | 7.05 pm AEDT Lessons learned for running clinical trials in a pandemic
A/Prof Steven Tong, The Doherty Institute, Australia

6.25 pm AEST  Latest data for steroids in COVID-19
Prof Bala Venkatesh, The George Institute for Global Health | Wesley Medical Research, Australia

6.45 pm | 2.45 am CST  Antiviral drugs for SARS-CoV-2
Prof Andre Kalil, University of Nebraska Medical Center, United States of America

7.05pm | 8.05pm AEDT  Antibody therapy for COVID-19
A/Prof Zoe McQuilten, Monash University, Australia

7.25 pm  IL-6 pathway inhibitors for COVID-19
A/Prof Bridget Barber, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute, Australia

7.45 pm | 3.15 pm IST  What approaches for thromboprophylaxis should be therapy for COVID-19?
Dr M Joseph John, Christian Medical College Ludhiana, Punjab

8.05 pm | 11.05 am CET  How does critical illness change treatment approaches to COVID-19?
Prof Jan De Waele, Ghent University Hospital, Belgium

8.25 pm |  11.25 am CET  A national healthcare response to intensive care bed requirements during the COVID-19 outbreak in France
Prof Jean-Yves Lefrant, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Nîmes, France

8.45pm AEST | 9.45pm AEDT | 11.45am CET | 4.45am CST | 4.15 PM IST   Close

Contacts

Luminita Vlad
07 3346 5045