​Preliminary program

Brisbane, Australia   6:00pm AEST     
Auckland, New Zealand   8:00pm NZST   
Malaysia Time, MYT   4:00pm MYT      
Jakarta, Indonesia   3:00pm WIB      
Nîmes, France     10:00am CEST
London, United Kingdom   9:00am BST

6.00pm AEST (Bris, Melb, Syd), 4pm AWST (Perth)   Welcome and Introductions
Professor Jason Roberts, The University of Queensland
Moderator: Ms Nicolette Graham, Children's Health Queensland
 
6.05pm AEST   Accelerated discharge of diverticulitis (25min)
Dr Raquel Cowan, Infectious Disease Physician, Barwon Health, Victoria
 
6.30pm AEST   Principles of treatment of intra-abdominal infections and Antimicrobial Stewardship considerations (25min)
Associate Professor Jennifer Broom, Infectious Diseases Physician, Sunshine Coast University Hospital, Queensland
 
6.55pm AEST   Surgical considerations in intra-abdominal infections (25min)
Dr Michael Donovan, Specialist General Surgeon, Nambour Private Hospital, Queensland
 
7.20pm AEST   Q&A
7.40pm AEST   Close 

About Outpatient Parenteral Antimicrobial Therapy (OPAT), Hospital in the Home (HITH) Masterclass webinars

CRE REDUCE will continue its educational series on Outpatient Parenteral Antimicrobial Therapy (OPAT) / Hospital in the Home (HITH) Masterclass Series in 2021, and deliver one seminar per quarter. With COVID-19 restrictions lifted we hope to hold each seminar as a dinner event in four different Australian capital cities (including Brisbane and Melbourne). The masterclasses will focus on models of care in Australian hospitals and internationally, considerations for various infection pathologies, and current research about the stability of drugs delivered in the OPAT context. 

We are proud to deliver this educational and research capacity-building activity designed to connect the leaders in the field with relevant clinicians, researchers and industry across the country and abroad. OPAT in the context of HITH is increasing in popularity and use globally, and the need for information on practices and principles of its use is evident. Current trends highlight opportunities for further expansion of scope and mechanisms to provide more convenient and cost-effective care.

Learning objectives

  1. Models of care for OPAT in Australian hospitals
  2. Models of care for OPAT internationally
  3. Treatment considerations for various infection pathologies
  4. Treatment considerations for OPAT use in infants and children
  5. Lastest data regarding drug stability in the context of OPAT

The proposed dates for the 2021 masterclasses are listed below. The theme, content and speakers for each masterclass will be detailed closer to the date. Invitations will be sent out to all CRE REDUCE subscribers. Click here to subscribe and receive the invitation.

  • OPAT/HITH Masterclass 1, Thursday 18 March 
  • OPAT/HITH Masterclass 2, Thursday 17 June 
  • OPAT/HITH Masterclass 3, Thursday 23 September 
  • OPAT/HITH Masterclass 4, Thursday 25 November
Organising Committee

CRE REDUCE gratefully acknowledges the organisers of the OPAT / HITH Masterclass series for their contribution:

  • Associate Professor Benjamin Rogers, Monash Infectious Diseases and Monash Hospital in The Home, Melbourne
  • Dr James Pollard, Clinical Director of Community Care, Cabrini Health, Melbourne
  • Ms Nicolette Graham, Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist, Queensland Children's Hospital
  • Mr Sean Unwin, Infectious Disease Pharmacist, The Princess Alexandra Hospital, Queensland
  • Professor Jason Roberts, Director CRE REDUCE, and NHMRC Practitioner Fellow, The University of Queensland

Other upcoming sessions